#3C: Post Reading Strategy

For my post-reading strategy, I would like to pose a mock trial for my classroom. In the book Things Fall Apart, Okonkwo is exiled for accidental manslaughter of a fellow member of the community. I would like my students to imitate the trial, with some students serving as a jury, one as a judge, one as Okonkwo, as well as students for his attorneys and as witnesses. I believe that this is a fun way to bring the text to life as well as to give students an opportunity to decide the fate of Okonkwo themselves. This strategy also introduces the legal system, an institution that many people, if not all, encounter at some point in their lives. Providing an opportunity to gain familiarity with the legal system as well as how trials work will prove to be an invaluable lesson to my students.

Leave a Reply

